Major Curriculum Change for LDS Institute and BYU Religion Courses

LDS Institute
Image via

For the first time in 30 years, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints sanctioned a change to institute classes and religion courses held at LDS colleges.

Last week, a letter was written to the Religious Education faculty at Brigham Young University explaining that this will alter the University’s graduation requirements. Students will still be required to take 14 credits of religion, but the current set of required scripture courses will be offered as electives. The letter also outlines that the CES classes will be as follows:

  • Jesus Christ and the Everlasting Gospel: 
    • This course will use all of the Standard Works to aid in the study of the Savior and His role in Heavenly Father’s plan
  • Teachings and Doctrine of the Book of Mormon:
    • This course will focus on the Book of Mormon, emphasizing the Savior’s ministry
  • Foundations of the Restoration:
    • Students will learn about key revelations, people, doctrines, and events of the Restoration
  • The Eternal Family:
    • Students will study the central role of the family in God’s plan through use of the scriptures and teachings of modern day prophets

The Religious Education Administrative Council proposed the cornerstone curriculum to the Board of Trustees—which Elder Russell M. Nelson and Elder Dallin H. Oaks are both members of—and awaited approval. The letter to BYU faculty explained the Board’s reaction to the proposal, saying:

The Board ‘enthusiastically endorsed’ the proposal of the four cornerstone courses. Many of the Board expressed their sentiment that this was an inspired proposal whose time had come and that it would greatly bless the students in the Church Education System.

The new four cornerstone curriculum will take effect beginning Fall 2015.