Food storage and anti-hoarding laws during "national emergencies"

james1verse12

I'm not in the LDS Church, but my fiancee and I are planning on putting together a food storage supply of at least a year's worth of food for the two of us and her daughter after we get married in March. I've already started with this on my own and have about six months worth of food for myself. What I'd like to know is whether there are any concerns that have been discussed among LDS members on any anti-hoarding laws by state or federal governments that would result in confiscation of "excessive" food in the event of a declared "national emergency." I don't see how the confiscation of food acquired prior to any such directives would be legal, but I'm not a legal expert. But regardless, since food storage is a big thing for LDS Church members, what do you all know about potential problems with confiscation if things get bad and laws are passed to ban hoarding of food?

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The Fourth Amendement to the Constitution of the United States says:

The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

You have the right to remain private and use the fifth amendment also. You have your rights. Act wisely.

-a-train

Is anyone anticipating a house to house search and the question "Are you Mormon? Where is your food storage?" I for one am not. If there is such a national emergency there will be no police force and military will be in disarray. Remember Katrina. Policemen all went home to take care of their own families.

Ben Raines