Ancient Greece?

Aesa

Many of you seem to espouse the notion that Marriage keeps society together. Do you think this explains the collapse of Ancient Greece (the fact that most of the elite had a wife and a homosexual relationship - and the rest of the population was largely bisexual)?

This will be a discussion of personal opinions, I'm not interested in debating or going on with points here.

Have you got evidence to support most people were in a homosexual relationship and that the rest of the population were bisexual? I studied classical civilisation for A-level and ancient greek and have visited Greece. I think that the Greeks were in awe of the male form, they thought it was superior and almost worshipping it was a form of worshipping the Gods, who all had perfect physiques. I hardly think this can be attributed to the breakdown of marriage though. There was undoubtedly homosexual activity, but I think your assumptions are a bit off :)

Most definitely all of the elites were. It was a different form of homosexuality, in other words, not the 'imagery of a heterosexual relationship' we have today.

I brought this topic up because I've been re-studying my philosophy notes in time for re-emerging of classes next week.

"Homosexual relationships seem to have been prevalent in ancient Greece. It is possible Achilles and Patroclus of Homer's Iliad were icons of male homosexuality. Aristotle stated that the Cretans encouraged homosexuality as a population controller on the island community in his Politics." Homosexuality in Ancient Greece - ReligionFacts

Marriage keeps a society together and forms the foundation for the basic building block of society: the family. As long as the institution of marriage is kept intact, other societal problems can be extant and the country can still survive healthily.