I Am Unsure

Christos

When I first went to the LDS church near me and had the missionaries round I accepted everything but then I started studying my bible and kept coming across the false prophet.

The one who would come after Christ and decieve many before the end time.

The one who would appear to be a sheep but is in fact a wolf (metaphorically).

I decided that I needed a lot more time to work out the truth, it was nothing to be rushed into, being baptised.

I have asked the missionaries to get me a whole collection of the scriptures because I don't feel that I could be baptised without having a decent understantding of latter day doctrine.

I decided to give up the word of wisdom as I came to the conclusion that Joseph Smith is the false prophet but now I am questioning it again. (It was only tea and coffee, nothing else)

That very day I felt guilty yet I did not know why, the reason being I believed Smith to be a false prophet.

I am currently finding it hard to distinguish what is right from what is wrong and I could really do with your help.

Although I do not believe the churh of J.C. of L.D.S. to be true I neither believe it to be false.

I think the hardest thing for me to accept is probably the Apostacy, the idea that God would give his only son and then years later turn his back to the world is horrific.

• Replies 103
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Christos,

I am short on time but would like to discuss this further in the forum at a little later date. Maybe even tonight.

I don't believe that Heavenly Father deserted mankind but mankind rejected his son and turned from him.

What Christ offered in his birth and death went beyond the immediate to the eternal. An eternal plan is long reaching and not just for the moment, a few years or even mortality.

I will discuss further in the future.

Thanks for the reply.

I don't believe that mankind actually did reject Jesus as the messiah.