Hi all - Documentary on Leeds missionaries

lameboulder

Hi all, I'm Seb. (I've posted this in the introductions forums too but this should really be here)

I'm 24, live in Leeds (UK) and I'm a film student. I should say I'm not actually part of LDS but I'm intrigued.

I've met numerous missionaries in Leeds and I've always been impressed by the dedication of the young people out there. Specifically one sunday evening, I was walking home from work and someone approached me. I was already in my own world and didn't really feel like a chat but this guy's dedication blew me away. Here he was stood in front of me on a sunday evening, it's wet, cold, dark and he's thousands of miles from home wanting to talk me about faith.

I didn't catch his name unfortunately but he stuck in my mind. So now I'm looking to talk to people on missions in Leeds for a documentary I'm putting together. I really want to know what makes people like the Sunday guy tick. I want to talk to people about their experiences and about them, their lives in Leeds and back home in the US. Even if you just want to say hi that's fine.

And that's me - Hi everyone :lol:

Welcome! I'm a UKer myself, living in Wokingham.

I should point out that you probably won't get active missionaries to be interviewed on camera. They aren't allowed. Too bad, as it would be incredibly poignant. As a film student myself, I'd love to put on the tragedies and triumphs of someone in a land where religion simply doesn't play in to most people's everyday life.

Maybe you can get footage from newly returned missionaries instead.

P.S. Returned missionaries are those who have completed their mission and has gone back home. So yeah, they're not gonna be in Leeds anymore but you can probably find a few of them who live within a drivable distance from you who has just returned from a mission - now these wouldn't be Americans but fellow UKers...