Enos 1:2

pam

Enos 1Â*

2 And I will tell you of the wrestle which I had before God, before I received a remission of my sins.

Quotes for Discussion

“Wrestle which I had before God”

In answer to my first prayer, no answer came. The faith was there, I felt, to the extent that I could exert it. The need was there, I felt certainly no doubt about that, but was the worthiness? I could always think of something, as I prayed night after night without an answer,…and so I continued to pray, feeling that when I could make myself worthy of an answer, I would get it. It was after I had been praying nightly for five years that the whole family…attended a Sunday School entertainment. My class rendered its number, followed by another that sang, and I remember some of the words of that song: “Keep on asking, God will answer by and by.” To me that was a revelation. I kept on praying. Some four years later, in the latter part of the month of August, 1887, in my nineteenth year, after I had been praying nightly for nine long years with all the earnestness of my soul for this special blessing, I was alone in the bedroom, and I said, half aloud, “O Father, wilt thou not hear me?” I was beginning to get discouraged. Then, brethren, something happened. The most glorious experience that I have received came. In answer to my question I heard as distinctly as anything I ever heard in my life the short, simple word: “Yes.” Simultaneously my whole being, from the crown of my head to the soles of my feet, was filled with the most joyous feeling of elation, of peace and certainty that I could imagine a human being could experience. I sprang from my e, and jumped as high as I could, and shouted: “O Father, I thank thee.” At last an answer had come. I knew it.

Joseph F. Merrill, in Conference Report, Apr. 1944 [salt Lake City: The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, 1944], 151-152