temple worker... to be or not to be?

sister_in_faith

I have been pondering becoming a temple worker for a few years now... I am disabled and have some memory issues. I have prayed about it in the temple and the spirit told me not to worry about that being a stumbling block. My bishop thinks it's a great idea, I just have to 'formally' ask, and I haven't yet. I don't know why I am having a hard time deciding when to do this. I really just want to be useful and help people, and I think that this is the perfect opportunity :rolleyes: hummm...

Anyone have any experiences they would like to share about serving in the temple as a worker that would help me take the plunge???

I have no experience with that but have wondered if I ever would be able to do that because of my memory problems as well. In your case it seems to me that there is lot of work for people to do that dont require all that much memory. If your bishop thinks you can do it I am sure that the temple has use for you and will help you when necessary if needed.

You are so fortunate to have this chance. I hope you go for it. :D

If you have the opportunity to be a temple worker, I highly encourage you to take it. For me, it is easily the most rewarding temple experience I've ever had.

Just be honest with the temple presidency and your shift coordinator about your concerns and what you do and don't feel comfortable doing. They consider it a priority to make your experience a good one and free of embarrassment, if that's what you're worried about.

If your primary worry is not being able to do the work, I assure you, you'll be an asset--even if you don't feel like you're being an asset, someone in that building will.

I was not an ordinance worker. But I volunteered in the temple for 7 years. It is wonderful and when the temple here is rebuilt I'll be volunteering again.