Help! Teacher Of 8 5 Year Olds

babygirl

I am a teacher of the 5 yr olds in my ward... and they r um...lets just say a handfull. the dont listen, they talk and laugh and its not quite or even avrege noise they r loude and everyone around r room can hear them, i have people pop there heads in or look through the window and give me a look of gosh keep your kids quite, i have even had some parents (not of the children mind you) pop in and just sit there, and act like they know everything and can fix it all, which they dont they just make me uncomfortable, and the kids r still noise i just dont know what to do, iv even gone to langths of bribing which i am totaly against and it doesnt work for very long...does anyone have some sugestions on how i can get controle of my class?

thanx a bunch

Dancergirl

Ah...again I stirke with a post. This could be habit forming... well, since I obey the Word of Wisdom I need some form of habit to live with...

dancergirl....I can help. I have not mentioned this yet, but back in 1978 (before your time) my very first calling was a Junior Sunday School teacher to -- you guessed it -- those cute adorable Mini Me sized 5 year olds. What a joy it was. I learned what is meant by "Out of the mouth of babes". They thought they were the boss and ruled. It was not easy getting them to sit and be quiet. Not sure I can remember exactly what I did since it was so long ago, but I do remember sitting down in a chair like they had and put them around me in a circle. I think I had like 10. I spoke in their language. I belive it was Pig Latin or some derivitive thereof, and we got along great. But they always loved the old bribe -- candy. Nothing like loading them up with sugar and sending them back to their parents. Not sure you can do that today, but it worked back then.

You can always pray HARD before you start class, and if nothing else, remember the 23rd Psalm: "Yay, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, thou art with me". :D