Should Fhe Lessons Be Church Approved Mat. Only?

I have been a Primary teacher for about 2 years now. We just got a new Primary Pres. and at a meeting we had she said that we should only be using material that has been approved by the Church. At first I thought to myself "yeah-right" as I had relied greatly on the supplemental material that you can buy at Deseret Book. But then she said that since that material is sold for profit, if you use them, you won't have the same spirit that you would have if you just used church-approved materials. Such as the Friend and what-not. This was about last December, and since then I haven't used any of the other material, and I found out that she was right! My class is much more attentive and respectful. Since then I have been only using the church-approved FHE manual for our FHE's and I found the same thing. The spirit is much sweeter. What is your opinion on this? Do you think it's necessary to use church-approved material only?

No.

When I was in high school, my brothers and I were always so active in so many extra curricular (sp) activities that it literally became impossible at times for us all to sit down together. So on Monday's we started just spending them together if we could. So if one of us had a sporting event, then the whole family would attend and then we would go out to dinner afterwards. Sometimes our FHE was on Tues or some other night. I dunno what the actual guidelines are, but I saw nothing wrong with this system because we still spent time together as a family once a week.

Originally posted by AFDaw@Mar 16 2004, 06:03 AM

No.