Him-hawing

Bini

Since this affects the whole family, I decided to post this here. So for the past year I've been flirting on and off with the idea of returning to work. I have been unemployed for about 2 years now and I've been happily doing the stay-at-home-mama thing. I kind of sort of touched on this in another thread before the holidays. Well, here I am him-hawing over this again to renew my license and get my resume back out there. The thing is, I'm not entirely convinced that this is the time for me to do this, despite being excited for employment. I talked with my husband, and he's supportive, however he has some concerns with me working and doing the mum thing. I get what he's saying.. When I was a floor nurse, that got really tiresome at times, and there were days I wished a black hole would just open up and swallow me. But I told him that I'm uninterested in doing that again, and I'd rather be a case manager, which depending on the company may offer more flexible hours. Maybe this bug that keeps on biting me IS a sign? I just don't know. On the other hand, we both do like the idea of an extra income, that was nice. But then there's also all those other little details that would need to be ironed out, like daycare for our daughter, and how much it's worth me working and being away from home.

Anyway, just thinking out loud and could use some input from anyone else that's bounced back and forth with this kind of decision.

My two nurse friends work one 12-hour shift a week to keep their skills sharp and certifications up. Going back to work doesn't have to mean full-time. :)