Crossfit?

Bini

I know there's got to be someone on here that has done this. I hadn't heard about it until a friend started talking about setting up the garage to be a crossfit gym. Apparently it is a form of conditioning that is common amongst elite athletes and police officers. The YouTube videos on it don't look too grueling but then again, I'm only a spectator of it, not a participant.

CF is a surprisingly popular method of getting in shape. It is highly controversial in the fitness community and tends to polarize people who are either in favour or adamantly against it. As a fitness professional I tend to be closer to the latter camp of not agreeing with CF as a system. I will try to put forth the pros and cons in the least biased way I can.

Pros:

• Over-all good conditioning program
  • Can lead to fast success

Cons:

• Extremely high injury rate (which = lack of success and long-term set-backs)
  • Emphasis on high-intensity as opposed to proper form = increased risk of injury
  • Use of advanced exercises with steep learning curves is simply thrust upon new recruits again leading to injury.
  • CF is quite expensive compared to other exercise classes/ boot-camps / it is closer to the expense of personal training, but executed much more poorly

So to sum up CF is fine for those who are 18-25 and in fairly good shape and who quickly pick up on exercises and whose bodies can still handle the punishment of grueling exercise with sub-par form and sub-par instruction/supervision. For most others it is a fast track to nasty injuries that will sideline your fitness goals and likely dampen your quality of life. But for those who get away with it, it can produce some pretty impressive body transformations. CF also has a strange cult-like following that advocates following the paleo diet which has some definite drawbacks.