What are your thoughts on open theism?

Jeffmk

I don't see how free agency could exist without free will. I'm really new to the concepts of open theism, but if they are what I think they are then it comes down to this:

God ultimately does not know what choices we will make.

I believe, God may know all of the possible choices we may make, He will have set limitations as far as what we can choose to do, He can also know the ultimate conclusion of mankind. But when it comes to choice he doesn't know.

Edited by Jeffmk
Changed "open atheism" to "open theism" in the text body.

If I put my shoes on the coffee table, and my wife knew I was going to put my shoes on the coffee table, that doesn't take away my free agency in choosing whether to put my shoes on the coffee table or not.

Yes it does. You lost your free agency the day you got married. :)

But setting that aside, Jerome's response has always been how I see it. I see why folks get hung up on whether we can surprise God or not, as an indicator of free agency, but I've never been able to follow them there totally.

All I know is what about open theism is what I've read in the past 5 minutes on Google and Wikipedia, and from this article. Things I like about it:

-It seeks to remove part of the Greek/Roman (Babylonian) philosophy found in historical Christianity theology.

-Some parts of the teachings are more in line with LDS teachings than historical Christianity.

What I don't like about it:

-The theology still is a mixture of truth and error.

IMO, you will get far more out of studying the scriptures and words of the prophets in-depth than the words of philosophers, no matter how well-intentioned. The D&C and Book of Abraham contain some incredible scientific and spiritual truths most people don't even realize is there.

I thoroughly believe God does know which I choice I will be making, which provides him an opportunity to guide my efforts, or either to correct them.