D&C 84:46 - "through the world"?

I am studying D&C 84 and presently find myself associated with verse 46.

"And the Spirit giveth light to every man that cometh into the world; and the Spirit enlighteneth every man through the world, that hearkeneth to the voice of the Spirit."

"[T]he Spirit giveth light to every man that cometh into the world," is in reference to the Light of Christ (according to every General Authority quotation and reference I can find). The second half of the verse refers to the idea of following the quiet promptings of the Light of Christ - as an individual does so, that individual is given a greater portion of the Spirit. This is evident in several quotations but, for example:

“The Light of Christ will lead the honest soul to ‘hearkeneth to the voice’ to find the true gospel and the true Church and thereby receive the Holy Ghost.” (Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin, April 2003 General Conference) or “Not only does this verse [verse 46] provide a further witness that we all have access to this source of divine direction, it also emphasizes the need for us to hearken, or listen and respond, to the promptings we receive….These intimations, sometimes referred to as conscience but more accurately defined as the Light of Christ, not only help us in deciding what is right and what is wrong, they will, if followed, lead us to the source of that light which emanates from the presence of the Father and the Son.” (Elder Kenneth Johnson, October 2002 General Conference)

Thus the meaning of this verse becomes clear. So, here is my question:

What does it mean, when we read in verse 46, that "the Spirit enlighteneth every man through the world, that hearkeneth"? That phrase "through the world" doesn't seem to fit and I can't determine a meaning for it in context of the rest of the verse. What are your thoughts?