Food storage for one

Guest Emerge_A_Butterfly

Guest NoraSariah

I'm the only member of the Church in my family of five, and we don't have a lot of space. How can I start my own food storage in the limited space I have? I have a second closet I could probably use. What exactly does food storage include? I've never tried to have any before.

Any starter suggestions would be great. Thanks.

Think of places such as under beds as storage, also crawl spaces or rafters in the attic for things that are temperature sensitive.

I agree with Eowyn, just start with a 3 month supply of what you already eat and rotate it. Its amazing how quickly spending $5 or $10 a month can add up.

Just a note: Food storage is not just for LDS members. So, you might want to discuss with your family the benefits of having a family food storage.

Here's a sample of what one adult would need in a 3-month food supply.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B4EjTfXhwMcwZm9SS1Znd0pUZW8/edit?pli=1

Now, I wouldn't survive on that list. I don't eat most of the stuff listed in there or I don't know how to cook/prepare it. So my 3-month supply is vastly different. For example, I don't have wheat in my food storage but I have rice... etc.

Here's another sample list for college students:

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B4EjTfXhwMcwMGViYzQzZmYtOGI5Mi00N2U5LTgyYjYtOTcyMmY4MjBlZmM1/edit?hl=en&pli=1

I have a well in my house so I'm not as worried about water. But, I did get a water bottle filtration thingee. Can't remember what the brand is called...

Are you trying to get food storage for just you, or for your whole family. (i assume you would still want to feed them).

I had put off getting some food storage for 2 or more years after buying a house. I have the room but not really the no how. I found this site.

Wise Food Storage - Emergency, Long Term, and Camping Meals