I Want To Go To Church

animallover7531

I have a problem and I need some advice. I'm new to this religion and I recently told my mom about it and she let me go to church on Sunday, but after that she started researching the religion and found all of this bad and untrue things about it, so now she won't let me go anymore. What do I do? If I can't go to church, then what should I do? She never really liked Mormons in the first place and it's been a while since I went and I asked her the other day and she said no.

I suspect you're a teen.  The LDS Church tries to support the family as best they can because we believe in eternal families.  So, the Church is not going to advice you to put a strain on your relationship with your mom.  So, if she really doesn't want you to go to Church, then you really shouldn't go.

But this does not mean that you can't "live the Mormon life".  You can continue to study the scriptures (they're online on lds.org) and any of the talks in the magazines (New Era/Friend/Ensign also on lds.org) and even the Sunday School manuals (also on lds.org).  Pray and try to learn to hear how the Spirit talks to you.  Also, you can ask to be taught by online missionaries on Mormon.org.

In the meantime, you can try to raise awareness with your mother by telling her of the good stuff Mormons do - like you can ask her if she'd be interested in watching that movie "We are the Mormons" or something... or even just saying things like - Did you know that the Candy Bomber is Mormon?  Or... do you know that David Archuleta is Mormon?  Or... did you know that the writer of the original Battlestar Galactica is Mormon?  Etc. etc. etc.

Obedience to your parents is a Gospel principal. Until such time as you are emancipated, you should honor her. Other than that, I echo Anatess. Live a Gospel centered life. Your mother will notice and appreciate it. Obviously you had some influences in your life that brought you to the Gospel. Stay close to those.