SQL database UI

MarginOfError

Anyone here familiar with mySQL and front end programs?  I'd like to set up a mySQL database to help manage my finances.  Ultimately, I'd like to have a set up where I or my spouse could connect to a query that shows the balance of our budgets on a smart phone to know how much is available.

Any suggestions on what front end programs are available?

Where is your Database hosted? I'd probably just google how to write a very basic HTML/PHP program to query the DB and upload it to the same server.

Edit: PM me if you want help with this. It should be pretty simple.

Edited by The Folk Prophet

I work with relational databases so much it is just what I'm comfortable with.  But I'm an analyst and so I'm not all that familiar with building the tables and the front end to do the data entry.  I realize spreadsheets are the usual tool for this, and I used to do it in Microsoft Access, but I don't really want to use proprietary software.  I'd much rather do something open source.

Ultimately, all I want is for my spouse to be able to see the balance in each budget category any time she is out.  If I had the discipline to enter the expenses on a regular basis, it would also help me track how much we spend in certain categories and help me a little at tax time if I can look up certain deductible expenses.

At the moment, I don't have a database at all.  I was thinking of using mySQL and they seem to have downloads available to manage the tables.  All I would need is a convenient front end and a way to push the balances up to a place where we can access them from the Web.  I figured I'd probably host the database on my PC rather than putting all my financial information accessible from the internet.