Pride or Self Esteem Promotion

David13

Satan wants you to have self esteem.

It's a feature on this website, and well states what I have been saying for many years. 

That this idea that the schools have to promote a false self esteem in their students is wrong and very disfunctional.

I cannot say any more about it better than said there.

dc

As President Hinckley's father counseled his young missionary: "Dear Gordon, I have your recent letter. I have only one suggestion: Forget yourself and go to work."

From a recent education week session:

"Don't focus on whether you're being humble...instead focus on serving others and serving God."

Also, I can't recommend this speech enough...especially the repetitive question of "What would you have me do next?" that has resonated for years: https://speeches.byu.edu/talks/henry-b-eyring_go-forth-serve-4/

Thoughts?

Here is the link to the article that David is talking about in case you are wondering.

http://lds.net/blog/life/satan-wants-you-to-have-self-esteem/

This is a great article ....hope everyone gets to read it. As I have stated in another thread when my son comes to our home lots of times the topic we talk about is mental health. He works in mental health and it's very interesting the things he shares.

Guest MormonGator

There is a huge difference between "self esteem" and "I think I'm a better person than you because of my skills and abilities"

IE-I'm very good at chess. I've been playing for years and have worked very hard developing that ability. I could probably beat you at a match. Am I proud of that? You bet. Does it make me a better man than you? Of course not.  

Self Esteem is very important.... when it is earned by doing hard things.  Why?  Because when it is earned by doing hard things a person learns how to handle failure and setbacks, and they learn that can over come such and the life isn't going to just hand them things.