I Got Volunteered, Now I Need Desperate Help

slamjet

For some reason there are some in my ward who thought I used to DJ for a living.  I did it twice for church functions and I swore I'd never do it again because I utterly FAILED at it.

Well, it took three people to get me to volunteer to DJ the Halloween dance on the 30th.  Somewhere along the line of my repentance and rehabilitation I lost the ability to say "NO!" and stick to it.  So now I need help in a desperate way, especially since my kids are not being very forthcoming...

Can someone please give me a list of songs that people/kids/zombies (I mean teens) dance to these days?!?!?

It it's not Styx, ZZ Top, Molly Hatchet or the Ohio Players, I'm lost so I need to be brought up to speed, please help, I'm lost.

Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus, Justin Bieber, Taylor Swift to name a few.

Check out Billboard.

That should give you an idea of who's popular today.  But I wouldn't be afraid to mix in a little of the old stuff.  Yes, I said "old".  My era of music was the 60s to the 80s.  So, Styx, ZZ Top, etc are right up my alley.

Maybe songs from that era are unfamiliar.  But music is music.  If you can dance to it, you can dance to it.  Think "Wake me up before you go" by Wham!

Some classics are still familiar: Against All Odds.  Faithfully.  Twist & Shout as well as "Shout" by the Isley Brothers.  Some Madonna songs light "Starlight".

But it can't be a majority of old songs.  The kids want to hear familiar songs too.  But for YOUR sake, it may be easier to mix in some of the old stuff.

Edited by Guest

Since it's a Halloween dance, "Monster Mash" is a must. I wonder if there are other such Halloween-themed songs you could throw in here and there.