Any good ideas for giving church lessons?

Sunday21

I really like the buzz groups idea

When I am a student, I hate it.

There are always one or two who say nothing, one or two who take the group over, and one or two who just go along to get through the period.

(Yes, I know who you think I am, but it ain't always so.)

The problem with this method isn't that each group reflects on only a couple of thought, but that other processes get steamrollered and ignored. There is no way to measure this, but it just may well be that the ideas not expressed may be the ones most useful to others in the class.

That, and it seems as if the teacher loses control of the schedule, since "five minutes" is always ten, and ten is always fifteen.

Lehi

Edited by LeSellers

Guest LiterateParakeet

THE most important thing is to pray for the Spirit.  I know that's a "Sunday School" answer, but it's true.  I can really tell the difference when I teach with the Spirit and when I don't.  I think the prayer should be very specific and heartfelt, not a vain repetition "please bless us with the Spirit" uttered casually and without thinking...but a sincere, heartfelt, "Heavenly Father, I don't know the needs of the people in my class, but I know thou doest.  Please guide me with the Spirit to say the things that are needed, or to ask the questions that will be most helpful."   That sort of thing . . .

The better teacher you are, the more you need to pray for the Spirit....because the temptation to just "go it on your own" will be strong.  But a lesson taught by the Spirit by any teacher is always better than a lesson taught "solo" by even a great teacher.