Healing and Faith

Jojo Bags

Something I've been contemplating for a few years is why is one person healed of an affliction or illness and another with an affliction or illness is not. In Doctrine and Covenants 42:48 it says, And again, it shall come to pass that he that hath faith in me to be healed, and is not appointed unto death, shall be healed.” And, there is another scripture that says, “Require not miracles, except I shall command you, except casting out devils, healing the sick, and against poisonous serpents, and against deadly poisons;” (D&C 24:13)

So, let me ask the same question: Why is one person healed and another is not? I look at my own life and wonder why I was healed of three horrible afflictions all within one year of each other and others are not. I know it seems that it all comes down to faith, but is faith the entire answer? I know that Joseph Smith taught that God will heal whom He will heal. But why one person and not another?

As I contemplated this, I asked myself what was the purpose of afflictions? Some afflictions, both physical and mental, are the result of our own choices, while others are the result of the choices of others. Still, some afflictions seem to be chance and others a result of sin, and still others a result of God allowing Satan to afflict us for some purpose.

I know that some people are not healed because they believe more in doctors than in the priesthood and the healing power of Christ. However, what about those who don't run to the doctor for everything, but do believe and have faith in the healing power of Christ? Why are they not healed? I think the necessary faith to be healed is coupled with what is to be learned from having that affliction by either the afflicted person or someone close to them. Possibly then, if the lesson is learned, then the afflicted person can be healed.

I'll add something to your questions.  Why am I personally healed sometimes and not others?  Is there not a Type in this thing?