Sacrament???

rondee59

I am new to the LDS church, so I do not know much about Mormon doctrine.  The missionaries said I could take Sacrament when I go into worship on Sunday.  From what I understand, I can take Sacrament at all times because I am focusing on Jesus Christ death and the Sacrament has nothing to do with me!  Can I get clarification on this?

Just my thoughts.   The Sacrament actually does have so much to do with you.  We take the Sacrament every Sunday to renew the covenants we made at baptism.  

But it's also our way to remember Jesus Christ and to remember to keep the commandments which we have been given.  I wouldn't say that we are focusing on his death when we take the Sacrament.  We like to remember that we have a living Christ and try to keep that upfront.

So take the Sacrament if you so choose to do so.  While doing so, remember the commandments we have been given.  Even non LDS know and are familiar with the commandments that Jesus Christ and Heavenly Father have given to all of us.  LDS or non LDS.

Hi rondee,

I'm not Mormon.  My family chooses not to take sacrament because of its significance and ties to baptism.  We wouldn't be renewing covenants because we haven't made them.  That said, Sacrament is personal and between you and God.  Members allow their unbaptized children to take it.  I would say to do what you want, just be aware of what you're doing and what it means.

What do I know though, being a heathen and all.

3 hours ago, rondee59 said:

I am new to the LDS church, so I do not know much about Mormon doctrine.  The missionaries said I could take Sacrament when I go into worship on Sunday.  From what I understand, I can take Sacrament at all times because I am focusing on Jesus Christ death and the Sacrament has nothing to do with me!  Can I get clarification on this?

Your missionaries probably didn't want to make you feel left out.