Holy Bible and the Book of Mormon

6 hours ago, showustheking said:

If the Holy Bible was the breath of Jesus Christ first and foremost, why do we accept the Book of Mormon of equal standing? I'm just a little bit confused on why the Book of Mormon is needed when the Holy Bible is God's message to us. I'm new to the faith and still exploring a lot of questions.

The way I look at it is, if I wrote a love letter to my wife on our five-year wedding anniversary, why shouldn’t she want me to write another one on our ten-year anniversary?  There’s nothing that says there can only be one love letter, or that inherently makes the one letter of more value than the other.

Edited by Just_A_Guy

When I was in high school, my best friend and I were in the same math class one year.  My friend did not understand things the way the teacher taught.  When the teacher was done with her presentation, I would turn to my friend and re-explain it in a way my friend understood.  When that was done, we'd do the assignment.  (Fortunately, the teacher wasn't the sort to be upset by this.)

Then there's also the two witnesses principle - the Bible as one witness (or two if you want to count the Testaments separately) and the Book of Mormon as another (then you can add the D&C and Pearl of Great Price, and modern prophets).  Together, the combination of witnesses provides a clearer, richer picture - each supporting the others.

Then there's the fact that the Bible was take from the records and teachings to those who were in the middle east.  The Book of Mormon was taken from the records and teachings given to those in the Americas.  Should God disregard one of these parties and deny them his word when they wanted and lived it?  Or preserve the records of one but not the records of the other?