Anybody do Intermittent Fasting? I have a question

dahlia

So, I've been doing maybe 85% keto for a few months to lower my blood sugar. Doc is fine with it, before the food police show up. :D  I am working on being more strict with myself.

I thought I would try intermittent fasting, trying to work up to one meal a day. Again, this is OK for diabetics; I'm fine. I'm on a couple of keto FB pages and know that a lot of folks drink coffee (bulletproof or not), which doesn't mess with their fast. Obviously, that's a no no for me.

If people can put fat in their coffee, what would be the problem with me having a cup of almond or soy milk? I've been doing fine not eating, but I admit a cup of something might be nice, if not at breakfast, then after I've been at work for awhile. 

Thoughts?  Will I mess up the process if I have unsweetened non-dairy milk?

Also, I've never been able to do a full fast Sunday because my endo said a diabetic on meds shouldn't fast. That was a few years ago and I no longer take insulin most mornings, because my control is better (I can see a regular doctor and don't need the endo anymore). Anyway, since I've been doing the IF, and we've got early church, I thought I'd try missing breakfast for fast Sunday.  I felt fine! I'm so happy I can do this. I felt something was missing from my LDS experience by not fasting.  I don't know if I can miss 2 meals and still feel OK, but we'll see. Meanwhile, I think I'll keep up the fast every Sunday and see how it goes. It's only a few hours. And to quote Dr. Now from 'My 600 lb Life', "No, you don't have to eat something. You've got 800 lbs of food in you."  No, I'm not 600 or 800 , but you get the point. There's enough padding; I won't pass out.