FamilySearch to start recognizing same-sex marriage

Fether

https://newsroom.churchofjesuschrist.org/article/familysearch-document-same-sex-family-relationships

FamilySearch is one of the world's largest collections of genealogical data, drawn from civil, ecclesiastical and other sources to be assessed for their genealogical value by each researcher.

FamilySearch Family Tree now provides the ability for users to document same-sex family relationships. Consistent with the doctrine of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, only marriages between people of the opposite sex may be solemnized or sealed in the temple.

Edited by Fether

It's a new news article, but I'm not exactly sure this is new news.  I've been hearing similar things for a few years now.

It makes sense.  We believe there are better ways to run life than having a divorce or children born out of wedlock, but part of doing genealogy is recording an occasional divorce date or birth to an unmarried partner.

One good way find the skeletons and dirt on our ancestors, is to do their genealogy.  Just enhancing the capabilities.

Edited by NeuroTypical

Guest MormonGator
16 minutes ago, NeuroTypical said:

One good way find the skeletons and dirt on our ancestors, is to do their genealogy.

Nostalgia is so weird. We like to think of the "good old days" and reminisce about how wonderful and innocent that time was, but in reality our ancestors were flawed people, like you and I. They had just as many problems and weaknesses as we do. 

Edited by MormonGator

3 hours ago, NeuroTypical said:

One good way find the skeletons and dirt on our ancestors, is to do their genealogy.  Just enhancing the capabilities.

So I’ve been told but I have been doing genealogy for a long time and the worst thing I have found was an ancestor hunting monkeys for sport. 😛 I want to find some real juicy dirt... but nothing yet 😕

23 minutes ago, GaleG said: