Help starting a garden.

Moonbeast32

I want to finally make president Benson's advice a reality. But I've never done gardening before. I feel in over my head. 

I have an empty garden box, and a small portable greenhouse. there are mountains to the east, so I don't get much sun in the morning. I live in Utah county, in the foothills of Timpanogos.

I have never done gardening before. I don't know what seeds I should plant or how to raise them. Could someone please help me to make an educated decision?

Edited by Moonbeast32

I try to do a garden of some sort every year, but I don’t have much of a green thumb. So, my gardens have been haphazard and some years successful and other years not so much. Our soil is very rocky and so we have switched to container/box gardening. I’m getting older with a bad knee and don’t have the strength or energy I used to have, so container gardening works for me.

One crop I plant every year is radishes. I don’t particularly love radishes, but they only take about 25 days to mature. They are easy to plant, and easy to care for and it’s exciting to get results within such a short time frame. It helps me feel like I’m a successful gardener.

My minimal garden every year includes radishes, turnips (personal favorite of mine when fresh and small), tomatoes, zucchini, carrots, and crook neck squash. On years when I feel like I can handle a larger garden I add  bell peppers, corn, green beans, peas, cucumbers, pumpkins, egg plant, broccoli, lettuce, and cabbage to my minimum garden. I often try strawberries and different melons, but don’t seem to have much success with them. 

31 minutes ago, classylady said: