Could education really be fully privatized?

Backroads

Chatting with a friend who teaches at a private school but hates her paycheck as private school teachers are notoriously paid squat.

I often hear the cry to privatize education, which to me sounds just fine. If we are worried about an educated populace, we could toss in some standard or another to be met and then let families and communities decide how to do this.

And while I'm sure there are many ways this could play out, my mind goes to one obvious outcome: lots more private schools.

But here's a potential issue I foresee: would enough teachers take private jobs at lower rates?

With lots of private schools now competing for students in this scenario, I see cost being a perk. Lots of people would pick the cheaper schools.

As a teacher myself, I don't see myself working for private school salaries. The majority of private school teachers I know have a wealthy partner or are doing this at the end of a more lucrative career. That's fine and dandy, but would there be enough people in these situations to fulfill the private school demand?

Back to the scenario: potential teachers go to other careers or possibly start their own mini school for those who can afford their rates. Private schools offer more money to attract teachers, but then have to increase tuition.

Families complain about the rising costs of education.

What exactly would prevent a rallying cry for a return to a public education option?

Edited by Backroads

We're just about at the end of our kiddo's  pre-college education.  Did much homeschooling, many different homeschool co-ops.  And, for the last 5 years, did many homeschool outreach programs offered by the public school system.  The options were offered by another school district, and we "choiced in" to that district, even though we don't live within the boundaries.  Colorado has a more favorable education landscape than other states, and allows tax dollars to flow in such situations.