Queen of England health

LDSGator

https://www.nytimes.com/live/2022/09/08/world/queen-elizabeth

The Queen of England might be nearing the end. I’m no expert in math ( @Vort, I might need your help with this, you are far far better at math than I am) but I assume that the majority of the people in the world alive today have never seen someone else on the throne. 

Huge historical event. 

Edited by LDSGator

10 hours ago, LDSGator said:

I assume that the majority of the people in the world alive today have never seen someone else on the throne.

I'm sure you are right. Elizabeth II ascended to the throne on the untimely death of George VI, her father, in 1952. Elizabeth reigned for 70 years, so only those over the age of 70 (closer to 71, actually) were alive when her father was the king of England and the UK. I believe the world's 70+ age bracket comprises about 8% of the world's population, maybe a bit less. That means that until today, about 92% of the world's current population had never known another English monarch besides Elizabeth II. I assume the statistics would be very close to the same if you counted only the population of the UK or only the population of Commonwealth countries (most of whom accept the UK monarch as their own, at least in a figurehead position).

I'm not an avid follower or lover of the English monarchy, but FWIW, I thought Elizabeth brought intelligence, common sense, elegance, and extremely good manners to a position which, while having little or no real executive or legislative power, certainly holds important sway in international and domestic (UK) affairs. (No pun intended on the "affairs" part.) She will be missed. We can only hope that her son, King Charles, will rise above the conduct he has displayed for most of his adult life and instead follow his mother's example.

4 hours ago, Jamie123 said: