Depending on Non-LDS Sources for Gospel Doctrine

Carborendum

I've been a Gospel Doctrine Instructor for about 9 months now.  I tag-team with another brother in the ward.  This means that I have a full month to study and prepare for my lesson.  Due to the extra study time that I have, I've come to realize that there is a LOT about the details of the Bible and Ancient Jews that simply don't exist on the Church website.  I'm aware that there are some non-Church related LDS "scholars" who have their websites and blogs.  But they either don't have the breadth and depth of work that I need for the questions I have, or they have shown themselves to be "less than scholarly" about what they put on their websites.

So, I'm left with looking up things on sectarian websites.  For the most part, I get the impression that they are at least well researched.  On more than one occasion, I notice that different positions exist among the sectarian world on any given topic.  So, I try reading a variety of opinions and try my best to verify through other means, and to pray about what I've read.

I began wondering about how I would know when I'm getting strung along on a tangent that has nothing to do with anything.  After all, if the very passage of scripture that I'm wondering about doesn't really have much commentary on the Church website, how will I know if any of it is true doctrine?  I've done my best to try to walk that line.

Then I began listening to Jordan Peterson's Genesis lecture series.  I found it to be truly engaging.  It really began to open my mind to a LOT of scholarship on literature, societal symbolism, an understanding of the human condition that I'd never thought about or read about.  I was really fulfilled with understanding... for a while.