LDS Leaders are the Oldest in Church History

First Presidency
Image via

The current First Presidency and Quorum of the Twelve Apostles for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is the oldest leadership the Church has ever had. The average age of the 15 leaders of the Church is 80.

The Salt Lake Tribune reports LDS researcher Christian Anderson, from Carlsbad, California, used information from to calculate the average age of the Church leaders.

Thomas S. Monson (87.53 years old), Henry B. Eyring (81.75 years old) and Dieter F. Uchtdorf (74.32 years old) comprise the First Presidency of the Church for an average age of 81.2.

The following is a list of the members of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles and their respective ages:

  • Boyd K. Packer, 90.48 years

  • L. Tom Perry , 92.57 years

  • Russell M. Nelson, 90.48 years

  • Dallin H. Oaks, 82.55 years

  • M. Russell Ballard, 86.40 years

  • Richard G. Scott, 86.32 years

  • Robert D. Hales, 82.52 years

  • Jeffrey R. Holland, 74.25 years

  • David A. Bednar, 62.71 years

  • Quentin L. Cook, 74.48 years

  • D. Todd Christofferson, 70.10 years

  • Neil L. Andersen, 63.56 years

According to Anderson, when the ages of all 15 leaders of the Church are taken into account, the average age rounds out to 80 years old—the oldest age of leaders, on average, since the Church was reorganized 185 years ago.