7 LDS Moms Named ‘Mother of the Year’ for their States

Mothers Day
Image via pixshark.com

For the past 80 years, American Mothers Inc. has honored one mother from more than half of the United States as “Mother of the Year,” and this year they are recognizing seven different Latter-day Saint women.

Through striving to “champion women by honoring, educating and serving mothers at home, at work and in the world,” American Mothers Inc. hopes to be “a nationally recognized and respected voice on issues impacting mothers.”

The seven Latter-day Saint mothers who were named Mother of the Year for their states are as follows:

  • Alaska — Vicki Solberg
  • Arizona — Bette Doxey
  • California — JoAnn Michaels
  • Idaho — Erika Soelberg
  • Nevada — Candy Krausman
  • North Dakota — Margaret Shaw
  • Utah — Jan M. Zogmaister

Each year, the organization also names 27  different women under the age of 40 as “Young Mother of the Year.” Seven different Latter-day Saint women were also honored in this category. Those women are as follows:

  • Alaska — Valerie Owens
  • Colorado — Shalyn Heath
  • Hawaii — Laurie Horita
  • North Dakota — Anneli Osmond
  • Texas — Bethany Paterno
  • Utah — Marilyn Bazinet
  • Wisconsin — Stephanie Rogers

To nominate a mother you know for next year’s Mother of the Year awards, visit americanmothers.org and provide a 300 word or less explanation as to why you think that individual deserves to be Mother of the Year. Nominations close November 15, 2015 and American Mothers Inc will announce the winners on Mother’s Day 2016.

Kylie is a writer at LDS.net and graduate of BYU with a degree in Broadcast Journalism. She grew up in a Chicago suburb where she gained a passion for the Chicago Cubs. She enjoys writing and live event video production.