Elaine Bradley, Other Artists, Create Tribute for Michael McLean


Elaine Bradley, from Neon Trees, and other Latter-day Saint artists created a new album in tribute to Michael McLean.

Producer, Eric Robertson, brought together Bradley, along with Brooke White (former American Idol contestant), Ryan Innes (top contestant on NBC’s The Voice”),  and others to record covers of McLean’s classic songs. The artists all put their own spin on the songs, making them more modern and, hopefully, attractive to the younger generation. 

Robertson and some of the artists featured on the new album, “Hold On,” introduce their creation in a YouTube video. “The themes of the songs, they’re same today as they were then,” says White. “So the messages are still the same, it’s just a fresher take on it.”

Of the cover album, Innes says,

 Michael McLean’s songs are solid. Melodies, lyrics, like, he’s a great songwriter and that’s why these songs stand on their own with a whole different production.

McLean debuted on the music scene in 1983 and has since produced more than 20 albums of original music, typically targeting a Latter-day Saint audience.

Robertson’s tribute album, “Hold On,” is available for purchase now at deseretbook.com and on iTunes. View the track list for the album below.

  1. ‘Hold On The Light Will Come’ – Scott Shephard
  2. ‘Give A Little Bit of Yourself’ – Catherine Leavy
  3. ‘You’re Not Alone’ – Andrew Langdon
  4. ‘Gentle’ – Drew Danburry
  5. ‘I Can’t Do Everything’ – Brooke White (from American Idol)
  6. ‘Homeless’ – Ryan Innes (from The Voice)
  7. ‘You’ve Always Been There For Me’ – Elaine Bradley (of Neon Trees)
  8. ‘Share The Joy’ – Severin Bozung
  9. ‘Be The Joy’ – Eric Robertson
  10. ‘Promise of Light’ – Adam and Darcie Sanders

Kylie is a writer at LDS.net and graduate of BYU with a degree in Broadcast Journalism. She grew up in a Chicago suburb where she gained a passion for the Chicago Cubs. She enjoys writing and live event video production.