Investigator problems

glennh

Greetings all, I have been investigating the LDS church for the last 6 months. recently my estranged wife has moved back in with me and our son. This is all good as I prayed alot for the healing of my family, but my wife is totally against the LDS church and me getting together with the missionaries. Since we have been trying to save our marriage I haven't been overly confrontational with her on this subject so as not to start another argument. Since I stopped meeting with the missionaries I have been finding myself very confused on what to do next with my faith. I was attempting to be baptized in the LDS church but had to cancel it and I feel ashamed for letting the missionaries down and I feel very much a flake now.

Any advice or comment will be highly appreciated.

Glenn

I would be cautious, if you are able to, find out why your wife objects so strongly to the Church. There may be misconceptions that she has that can be resolved. As I can't think of a better way to put it: Consider that there may be religious bigotry at play here.

I am happy that you are able to start working out your Marriage. If you cannot directly meet with the Missionaries, and, even if you can, remember to do a few things. Read the Book of Mormon daily. If your wife is religious in any way, read the Bible with her. Study together, and study apart. Pray together, and pray apart.

I've only been married 7 years, so I can't offer any advice of the same calibre that others on here can, but reconciliation is give and take. You will need to give up things for her, but she must also do the same. Marriage cannot be a one way street. If there is to be a proper, lasting reconciliation, by my estimation, both you and your wife will need to acknowledge your own parts in the cause of the estrangement. You may want to try to find an independent Marriage councillor, as I don't know how well received an LDS Professional would be accepted by your wife.