Believing Christ

Justice

Believing In Christ and Believing Christ.

I want to borrow this comment made by JudoMinja in a different thread.

I've been studying the book of Hebrews lately. I think chapter 3 and 4 teach this principle very well.

I once heard that the key to understanding the New Testament is knowing what question is being answered. The epistles, or letters, sent to the different churches were meant to interpret doctrine that was misunderstood, or to settle controversies that particular branch of the church had. So, it stands to reason that if you can find the purpose for the letter, or the "question being answered," then understanding the New Testament would be easier.

As I studied the New Testament and pondered on what question each teaching might be addressing, it was amazing how much clearer the New Testament became. Take Hebrews for instance:

Hebrews 3:

1 WHEREFORE, holy brethren, partakers of the heavenly calling, aconsider the bApostle and cHigh Priest of our profession, Christ Jesus;

Modern revelation throws such a brighter light on what Paul may have been saying, and to whom. This sounds to me like he is addressing a Priesthood body. "Holy brethren" and "partakers of the heavenly calling" seem to be addressing those men who had been called to the priesthood. But, it is also clear that the times were very different, and women were not given the same treatment they are today. It could have been addressed to brethren, knowing they were the priesthood leaders, yet meant for all members.

2 Who was faithful to him that appointed him, as also Moses was faithful in all his house.

3 For this man was counted worthy of more glory than Moses, inasmuch as he who hath builded the house hath more honour than the house.

4 For every house is builded by some man; but he that built all things is God.

5 And Moses verily was faithful in all his house, as a servant, for a testimony of those things which were to be spoken after;