Jesus And Jehovah

LionHeart

• Replies 81
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I read in an LDS book that said that according to LDS belief, Jesus and Jehova are the same indivdual; that Jesus is the one who communicated to the ancient prophets; the one who was called Jehova. This was new to me. I'm not sure what to make of it. Any comments?

What is the LDS book that you read? I am new to the Church, however, according to the Gospel Principles Jesus was once called Jehovah.

"We needed a Savior to pay for our sins and teach us how to return to our Heavenly Father. Our Father said, "Whom shall I send?" (Abraham 3:27). Two of our brothers offered to help. Our oldest brother, Jesus Christ, who was then called Jehovah, said, "Here am I, send me" (Abraham 3:27)."

http://www.lds.org/library/display/0,4945,11-1-13-6,00.html

Guest ApostleKnight

...according to LDS belief, Jesus and Jehova are the same indivdual...This was new to me...Any comments?

It's not just an LDS belief. Paul himself taught it plainly in Corinthians 10, particularly verses 4 and 9 which I reproduce here. Paul is comparing Israel's journey through the Red Sea to being baptized under Moses:

"And [israel] did all drink the same spiritual drink: for they drank of that spiritual Rock that followed them: and that Rock was Christ." (v.4)

"Neither let us tempt Christ, as some of them also tempted, and were destroyed of serpents." (v.9)

Paul is saying that Jesus was the God who followed Israel in the wilderness, who led them through the Red Sea, and who destroyed them with serpents after they "tempted" God. One of the Jews' name for the God of the Old Testament was Jehovah. So if the Old Testament God was called Jehovah, and if Jesus was the God of the Old Testament, Jesus was Jehovah.