BYU's honor code remains a hot topic

pam

I applaud BYU for sticking by their decision to treat all students equally when it comes to honor code. #3 BYU lost one of their star players at a very bad time. But their philosophy is that the honor code is more important than winning games.

ksl.com - BYU's honor code, Davies remain hot topics

Excellent. I'm a U of U graduate, but I applaud BYU not making an exception to their honor code for the 'special class' of student that brings in money and prestige for the university. It's evidence that the church is not developing pharisee/saducee elements. Dood who got kicked out can go anywhere else he wants, and do as much as whatever he did to get him kicked out of BYU as he wants. He just can't do it at BYU.

I was just talking to my husband about this last night. This is how the conversation went:

DH: "BYU just kicked out their star basketball player for premarital sex!"

Me: "Awesome!"

DH: "Huh?"

Me: "I think it's awesome that they're sticking to the honor code."

DH: "Do you know how many guys in their football team have premarital sex?"

Me: "Uhm... None?"

DH: "I doubt it."

Don't know what to make of that comment...

I was just talking to my husband about this last night. This is how the conversation went:

As BYU lacks omniscence a more relevant question would be, "Do they know which (a number doesn't single violators out unless it's the whole team) guys on their football team have premarital sex?" They can't discipline for honor code violations if they aren't aware of them.

Edited by Dravin

You can get as much drugs and beer and sex at BYU as you can on any other college campus, if you know where to look. That's not the point. The point is BYU won't be looking the other way when they catch you. That speaks to integrity.

Speaking to the ability to keep naughtitude off campus is another thread.

Slight correction. "One" of their star basketball players. :P Petty I know, but I'm a Jimmer fan.