Protecting your family

LuckOfTheIrish

Just joined here and I thought of a topic to discuss. I am interested in other people's views on this issue. I live in a good neighborhood in a safe LDS town. I have not been LDS all my life. I ran with a rough crowd at one time and have encountered a lot of degenerate people who make bad choices. I was in the military and drilled with an infantry unit and I currently work in law enforcement. I have seen some extremely gruesome, horrible, evil things done by evil people in my job that I will never talk about to anybody but my co-workers who were there. I am a HUGE supporter of the right to bear arms (in a responsible manner) and the right to defend yourself with deadly force if in defense of yourself or someone else. I keep two loaded firearms in the bedroom (safely) stored in different locations and I qualify with them frequently both at work and personally. I also carry concealed. I taught my wife to shoot both guns in a stationary and tactical environment. One reason I do this is because I can't spend nights with my wife and she is alone. Also, if my house is ever broken into or I am in a situation in town where I'm robbed, I want to protect my wife and myself. A criminal will almost always have a deadly weapon in order to gain an advantage, and sadly the only way to gain it back is to be proficient and carry one of your own. I know the chances of ever needing to use deadly force to protect myself or my family is very slim, especially in a relatively safe, small town but I want the option there if I ever need it. This mindset has carried over from before I was LDS and I don't think it will ever change. There is so much evil perpetuated in the world. My mom thinks I'm insane, my dad grunted in approval, and my poor wife has had to get used to idea of a loaded firearm always being around. As a person, and more specifically as a priesthood holder I'm interested in how other people feel on the issue.. Is it overboard, or is it