N.Y. Governor: Sept. 11 Trial a Bad Idea

bytor2112

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I don't understand how it is determined when to have a trial in military court or civilian court. It would seem to me that if an individual is accused of international terrorism and harm to the people of US, then the military would be the venue. But, I'm no lawyer or versed in any kind of law understanding.

Also, what is the difference between civilian court and military court? What are the ramifications of having it in civilian as opposed to military?

I guess I'm missing something. Where does it say anything about a military court?

A military court takes jurisdiction over military members. Perhaps you are thinking of military tribunal when it tries people of enemy forces during wartime. We weren't at war then.

Edited by pam

Some of the stuff I'm hearing is that conservatives are up in arms that this isn't tried in a military something (court, tribunal, something) and instead is going to be in a civilian court. I don't understand what the difference and why this is causing some people to be upset.

Perhaps one reason might be that decisions made in a military tribunal can't be appealed to the federal courts. From what I understand, the President as commander-in-chief would review any appeals. This takes out the years and years of appeals.

Guest Godless

Some of the stuff I'm hearing is that conservatives are up in arms that this isn't tried in a military something (court, tribunal, something) and instead is going to be in a civilian court. I don't understand what the difference and why this is causing some people to be upset.

He would have more constitutional rights in a civilian court than he would in a military tribunal, and it's possible that he'd get a lighter sentence. On this, I agree with those who are objecting to this move. He's a war criminal and should be tried as such.