Tips On How To Become The "Hostess" Type?

Bini

I am not the hostess type. The idea of entertaining people is something that is completely out of my comfort zone! I'm not sure why I feel this way because I'm a confident cook and fun person to be around. I've never had any problems enjoying myself or the company of others at get-togethers and parties but the thought of ME being the hostess totally stresses me out! Hubby says it's because I want everything to be perfect and the idea of things possibly going wrong really freaks me out. Maybe he's right. I am a nut when it comes to organising things.. Still, I'd really like to break out of this shell and try being the hostess for once. After all, it's just as simple as throwing a BBQ and everyone bringing their own meat or whatever.. Right? :D

Sigh.. Any tips? This'll shock everyone cos pretty much everyone I know, knows, that I don't host — ever! It will be an epic moment, seriously..

Haha. Thanks, Pam :]

Keeping it simple is key. I think I'm also nervous about people totally thinking my get-together is LAME :[ Pot luck does sound A LOT easier than me trying to prepare or cook something entirely solo.

Still, I'd really like to break out of this shell and try being the hostess for once. After all, it's just as simple as throwing a BBQ and everyone bringing their own meat or whatever.. Right?

You don't even have to start there. You can do something like renting a movie and watching it or playing some board/party games. The advantage of having it activity focused instead of meal focused is then you can just put out some chips and dip with maybe a relish tray and you don't have to fret over a large meal.