Girls camp requirements

RMGuy

Recently I was having a conversation with some individuals regarding requirements for attendance at girl’s camp. One of which was that the girls must remove all body piercings except one pair of earrings prior to attendance.

I am curious as to everyone's thoughts here. Not just what you think, but why you think/believe what you do about it?

-RM

I think it's a great idea.

Why?

1. My own girls' camp experiences were pretty rough n tumble. We had very strict rules about what we could and could not bring and we could only bring the bare necessities, junk food, and stuff with which to make fun crafts. There was no room for looking cute or wearing lots of jewelry.

2. I worked as a counselor at a Boy Scout camp that was also used for LDS girls' camps. It was even more rough n tumble than the ones I experienced.

3. Girls' camp has many spiritual moments. I do not believe body piercings severely affect one's spirituality, but there is something to be said for humbling one's self and taking part in the group mentality. I think the less-jewely approach is sensible especially for backwoods' camps and therefore there might be problems from the girl who wants to rebel.

We asked by the GA to only have one pair of earrings at a time ... when attending a church function this should be followed. It's all about teaching obedience.

Of course our area isn't like it was when I first went as a counselor at 15. We had a dry camp up on Mt Lemon outside of Tucson AZ. No cabins, no running water except in the cook cabin, not electricity. Those girls knew this and still they drug along hair dryers, electric rollers and all manner of stuff. Where the heck did they think they were going to plug them in ... a current bush?????? A year or so ago our girls went to a camp over near Ellensburg, WA ... they got to sleep in Teepees ... to cool.

Some of the questions that I encountered included: