Help With Mormon Question

sarah_22

Hello all,

I am very new to the whole "chat" thing. I have a question about mormonism though, and thought who better to ask than mormons themselves. Hopefully you guys can help me :)

I am interested in mormonisms' rejection of the ex nihilo theory. I know that mormons believe God doesn't create out of nothing ,but does that also mean that he couldn't even if he wanted to?

I've been reading quite alot on LDS dotrine and have to say i like it alot, but this particular teaching really gets me. I feel it demotes God in so many ways by teaching that he can't do something.

Any replies would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks-

• Replies 166
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hello all,

I am very new to the whole "chat" thing. I have a question about mormonism though, and thought who better to ask than mormons themselves. Hopefully you guys can help me :)

I am interested in mormonisms' rejection of the ex nihilo theory. I know that mormons believe God doesn't create out of nothing ,but does that also mean that he couldn't even if he wanted to?

I've been reading quite alot on LDS dotrine and have to say i like it alot, but this particular teaching really gets me. I feel it demotes God in so many ways by teaching that he can't do something.

Thanks-

Hmmmm, I've heard that God can't lie...cheat, steal or do anything evil. So, let me ask you....what does God not being able to commit an evil act demote him to? Is he a lesser God because he can't commit an evil act? Or, could it possibly be that there are eternal laws that even God must abide by?