Sacrament talk help would be appreciated

I'm not good with coming up with material for talks, but my topic for next Sundays talk is "Follow the Brethren in building our foundation upon the rock" Basically it's about how to follow the first presidency and Q12. I was thinking of bringing up how there's so much anti Mormon material on the Internet with false information and how we should follow the Brethren for information instead. Anyone have suggestions on what I can use for my talk? Is this an ok thread to make?

Guest MormonGator
9 minutes ago, Zarahemla said:

The hardest part is making it 10 minutes.

Very much so. I've been asked to give a speech before but squirmed my way out of it, thank goodness. The only public speeches I'm comfortable giving are political, not religious. I could rant about politics for ten hours! 

Edited by MormonGator

In the Gospel Library app (if you don't have it, let me know and I'll try to find the links online - or you can try), there's a seminary document called "Doctrinal Mastery Core Document" (Seminaries and Institutes > Seminary > last item in the list).  In there, is a chapter called "Acquiring Spiritual Knowledge".  A part of that is about going to "divinely appointed sources" (such as prophets and apostles).  It's pretty short and might give you some ideas.  In the same section, you will find "Doctrinal Mastery New Testament Teacher Material" which has the same chapter, with more details on the same topic.  Again, it may be of use to you.

Keep in mind, in the scripture being referred to (Matthew 16:15-19), the "rock" is revelation.  It is through prophets and apostles that we receive crucial revelation to help us know what is true.

Best of luck with your talk!

17 minutes ago, zil said: