Legal status of Polygamy

Newton

I'm just a student in high school who wishes to garner the opinions of Mormons on the topic of Polygamy.

Seeing that this is my first post, let me introduce myself.

I'm a student in Florida currently enrolled in Honors American Government and Politics. As students, we we are required to complete a civic advocacy project which involves the active protest of any law we choose, and research on popular opinion of that law. My partners and I have chosen the topic of the current illegal status of polygamy in our state.

So here it goes:

1) As Mormons, how do you feel about the practice of Polygamy in general?

2) Why did the Mormon Church abandon the practice of Polygamy after so long?

3) Technically speaking, polygamy is legal in 43 states through serial civil divorce . Florida, Michigan, Mississippi, North Carolina, North Dakota, Virginia and West Virginia have gone one step further and banned cohabitation among people who have multiple sex partners and are not married. How many of you were aware of these laws, and do you live in one of the aforementioned states?

And last but not least,

4) To what extent do you feel that the government should interfere with the structure of a family, whether it involves same-sex marriage, polygamy, or other factors?

If you could answer as many of these questions as you can, your help would be GREATLY appreciated!

THANKS IN ADVANCE!

Edited by beefche

Hidden

I'm just a student in high school who wishes to garner the opinions of Mormons on the topic of Polygamy.

I'm a student in Florida currently enrolled in Honors American Government and Politics. As students, we we are required to complete a civic advocacy project which involves the active protest of any law we choose, and research on popular opinion of that law. My partners and I have chosen the topic of the current illegal status of polygamy in our state.

So here it goes: