Science Fiction writing non offensive to the LDS

Hala401

I must say that this encounter with the LDS has been an affair of the heart for me in a very special way. I just can not express it strongly enough. Finally, after a life time of searching for Heavenly Father, it seems as if I am finally on the right track. I hope that my words do not sound like silly infatuation.

I am also a writer. I started writing as a way to journal and work out my angst over several life issues, and I have written quite a lot; more than I suspected I would. I'm not a university english major, so I know that there are perhaps some sentence structure problems in what I write. Adding to that was my years of being with ESL folk.

Along the way, starting with my LDS experience, I wrote a Science Fiction story that was intended to be a comedy but as it developed became more serious and and contemplative. The first edition of it, about 7000 words, did not mention the LDS at all, but LDS folk would easily be able to understand who I'd written about.

I have just rewritten it, and now the references are less oblique. And I discover that my protagonists have become more certain of their faith. This was supposed to be the end of it but now I find my muse pressing me for another installment. It sometimes feels like my older sister is nagging me. LOL

So, now I come to the heart of the matter. I do not plan to drop the reference to the LDS in the next installment, and need to decide how I will handle the end times, since the story goes past the end times and into a very speculative future that I want to be quite optimistic.

How can I write this story in such a manner that I will not be offensive to the church that I have fallen in love with? Oh, I know that I sometimes complain about some things that I am trying to work out, but would never want to be seen as being offensive to Heavenly Father or his Church.