Lehi making sacrifices

Hi, everyone. It's been a while from my part LOL.

Studying and pondering this week's Come, follow me assignment, I came across something that made me think a little. Why did Lehi make sacrifices in the wilderness being him a descendant of Joseph and living under the Law of Moses, that prescribed that the temple rituals were only to be performed by the priests? 

3 minutes ago, Edspringer said:

Hi, everyone. It's been a while from my part LOL.

Studying and pondering this week's Come, follow me assignment, I came across something that made me think a little. Why did Lehi make sacrifices in the wilderness being him a descendant of Joseph and living under the Law of Moses, that prescribed that the temple rituals were only to be performed by the priests? 

As I understand it... (this means that I am not an expert in this area, but I've read a few things).

• Samuel was also an Ephraimite.  He was chosen as God's prophet of that era.  He even wore priestly robes (as evidenced by Saul tearing them).  And the sacrifices were to be offered by Samuel, not Saul.
  • David was of the tribe of Judah and he offered sacrifices in the temple.  He was considered a prophet-king.
  • So, it appears that prophets (at least) were allowed to offer sacrifices just like the Levites.
  • Likewise, Lehi was clearly called as a prophet.  So, that means that he held the priesthood authority to do so.

The common understanding is (and I don't know what the scriptural basis is, but it makes sense):

While the Melchizedek priesthood was not common, it was still present.  And those holding it could also offer sacrifice.  And it was that authority that Lehi brought to his sons and the Nephite nation.