Christ vs Baal - what is the difference

Traveler

Some years ago I studied the epoch of Baal and was surprised and the similarities between Baal and Christ.  For example Baal was half man and half G-d.  Baal had power to heal sick and because he was given power over the elements was considered in control of the elements - able to bring storms or calm storms.  Interestingly Baal also had power to walk on water.

Baal also died trying to save mankind and was resurrected and was able to save all of mankind that believe in him.  Granted I have given only part of the story - as an intent to raise the question - what really is the difference in being a Christian that believes  in one of the many versions of Christ like doctrine or someone that believes in Baal?

One would think the obvious difference for any believer in Christ is this: Christ exists, Baal does not. Thus the difference in following Christ and following Baal is that the follower of Christ follows an extant being.

One would think the obvious difference for any believer in Christ is this: Christ exists, Baal does not. Thus the difference in following Christ and following Baal is that the follower of Christ follows an extant being.

What makes a deity not exist?

Because one group killed most of its practisioners?

Once upon a time thousands upon thousands prayed to Zeus, what suddenly made him not exist? Everything people felt he did for them- what did they think of that?

If I pray to Ishtar and she "answers" my prayers is that proof enough that she exists?

I am generally curious about that sort of thing, at what point does a God exist or not exist.

What makes a deity not exist?

It not being extant.

Because one group killed most of its practisioners?

Nope, if something exists killing those that believe in it/them doesn't make it no longer exist. Unless we're talking about existence as a social construct, but that's outside of the scope of my comments.