Would it do more damage to come clean?

Hi all. I am just looking for some friendly advice...

I was born into the LDS church, went on a mission, got married in the Temple etc. etc. However, I have (over a process of time) come to no longer believe in the Gospel. (Not the point of this post) The point is that, I have a wife and several children, and I don't know how to tell her, or even if I should. The church goes far back in each of our family histories and is culturally part of who we are. I am still actively going to church, and I have two callings that I am very dedicated to.

My question is, should I just keep quiet about the fact that I don't believe in any of this? I really don't want to upset my family, and I'm not one of those people that has some existential crisis every time I bear my testimony in class (I am a seminary teacher) even though I know I am just lying when I do so. I give talks, pay tithing, teach lessons etc, and just pretend that I believe it, however I do wish sometimes that I could just be frank with my family about my disbelief. Like I said, I just keep my mouth shut because I don't want to upset my wife, parents etc, and I don't mind my kids growing up "Mormon" because I think the church teaches good values.

Any thoughts?

• Replies 102
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

This reminds me of the people, on my mission, that wouldn't get baptized because Catholisism was part of their family history.

If it were me, I would confide in the bishop. I see nothing wrong with most of what you are saying, however I am a little concerned about teaching high school age kids when you don't have the testimony. I would hate to see anyone lying.

I'm sure you know the general idea of how to gain or re-gain a testimony, no need to lecture you. The trick is to want to re-gain it (or gain it if you don't think you ever had one.) That could take some time.