Linguistic Issue with Scripture

Daraamanthas

OK... I am about to jump on a grenade here...

I am a linguist and translator by trade and hobby.  In my studies of language and ancient history I have develloped a serious issue with the Bible.  First, I do believe the DOCTRINE to be basically good and true.  The History therein has been veryfied to a point.

My problem is with the descriptions of various events and people in general.  There are NO original documents. The oldest documents we have are dated to a few centuries AFTER the New Testament!  How do we know that these documents are accurate copies or translations of the original?   How can we (christians) put so much creedence in these writings?  

In essence my question comes to this:  How can we as The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints put our trust in a set of writings that are unverifieable?  

We believe the Bible to be the word of God as far as it is translated correctly. (Article of faith 1:8)

That coupled with cross verifying doctrine with the Book of Mormon, and Revelation.

And from what I recall historical writings within 100 years of an event are generally considered fairly reliable. A few documents fall into that time frame.

Edited by Crypto

I agree with everyone above. A careful reading of my original post will attest to that. As I said, the doctrines contained in the bible are true.  Yes, the BoM does verify the Bible, but, with very few exceptions, only in doctrine. 

While acceptable documents can come from about 100 years after the event in question, how do we account for the 500 to 6000 years that separate the earliest documents and the Old Testament. Yes I have heard about the exacting standards of the Jewish copyists.  They were still men and made mistakes.   Let us not forget 1 NE 13 beginning in verse 29.  Nephi tells us that many "plain and precious" things will be removed from the Bible before it went forth amoung the Gentiles.

The issue is in language, for example: